IPC rules for clean-outs and other questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Schnabeltasse

Reaction score
I’m in Indiana under 2006 IPC (with local amendments that don’t affect this topic).

I’m trying to plumb a bathroom in an addition I am building.

IPC states that in “horizontal waste or soil lines”, each change of direction over 45 degrees requires a clean out. Unlike UPC it does not use the “aggregate 135 degree” rule.

First off, is a trap arm considered a “waste or soil line” or does this rule only apply to branches (and building drain and sewer as separately called out in the code)?

I’m interpreting the IPC rule to mean that if I have a 90 degree turn, I would need a clean-out, but if I break it up into 2 separate 45 degree turn, I would not need one. Each change of direction would not be more than 45 degrees. Is my thinking correct?

Another somewhat related question: on a p-trap, if the bottom “u” is pivoted out of line of the inlet elbow, is that considered a change of direction or does it not matter since technically, the inlet elbow turns from horizontal to vertical where it drops into the “u”?

Below are a marked up picture and a sketch of my layout. Obviously, the pipes will run under the floor in the basement. I will have 3” pipe from the building entrance to the toilet at the end of the 3” run (running along the basement wall). There will be a clean-out just past the toilet and there is a clean-out outside where the 3” line transitions to a 4” line to the septic. The 3” line in the basement will have a vertical offset (via two 45’s) after it enters the basement to get closer to the ceiling (need to clear a doorway). After that I will have a 2“ stub for a future basement ejector, followed by the shower and tub drain (2“ all the way), and a 2“ line to a double vanity connected to the 3“ line before the toilet.

Here are some questions I have: