Help me rehab an old well ......

Users who are viewing this thread

William Perkins

Reaction score
Hi - I'm a newbie both to this forum & to water well systems. I need some guidance/advise to resurrect a well in the back yard of this rent hse I've lived in for 8+ years.

My landlady's man friend,Larry, also does most of her maintenance/repairs at several properties. When he saw that I was watering the lawn regularly enough to keep it green in a very hot, dry summer in west central Texas, about 120 miles S.W. of Ft. Worth, he mentioned getting the well to producing. The deal is that I would provide the equipment/parts, and he would do the labor at no charge. This would be a quick payoff for me ...... I used 14,000 gals. water last month (1400 gals. in Feb.) and my water bill was $113.

Last week, we pulled the old pump - a vertical pmp/mtr assy mtd over the 5" PVC casing ...... can't read the pump NP but the motor is 3/4-hp, 115/230 volt , 1-ph, cast iron encl., as is the pump - they are very heavy. The shaft is frozen, hence we consider both to be scrap. Following is what we have:

1. The well hse is a solid 4-wall cinder block surround about 4-1/2 ft high w/removable wood frame cover and corrugated metal top ....
2. The well casing is 5" PVC pipe with a 6" collar at floor leve ....
3. Water is at 32 ft. down the hole ....
4. Well bottom is at 64 ft.; about 6 ft. below the bottom of the black (pvc ?) tubes ....
5. The foot valve(s) and check valve in the assy at the bottom of the black tubes are good. Larry poured water down the tubes, and they stayed full.
6. The Sq. D. Type FSG-2 'Pumptrol' 2-pole PS is apparently in good condition; likewise the MCC Clayton Mark, 0 - 100 psig pressure gauge.
7. A 2-pole, 250 volt, 30 amp, Nema 3R, fused Safety Switch is in fair condition. It can possibly be cleaned up/repainted and reused. The fuses are 10-amp, slo-blo Shawmut screw type. This item was in the wellhouse.