Flow/pressure problems-Multi tank passive

Users who are viewing this thread

natec904

Reaction score
Hi all, firstly I am a master electrician not a plumber. Electrical theory I am good with but have absolutely no training or technical knowledge of plumbing systems.
I designed and built a three tank solar collector which I installed in series with my existing electric heater. My theory is that when solar falls short electrical would act as back-up.

I cut the 3/4" cold supply to the electric and sent it to the solar. The solar I piped in 1/2" cpvc and returned the hot side to the electric cold supply inlet.

I installed two isolation valves and a bypass valve so I could isolate the solar in the event of problems and go to bypass and essentially be back where I was with the exception of a reduction from 3/4" pvc to 1/2" cpvc at the electric cold supply inlet.

I piped the solar in 1/2" to slow the flow so as to collect more heat and so expected some flow reduction but upon my first shower I was in for a real depressing surprise. There was barely enough (pressure/flow? ) to climb from the spout to the shower head.

In bypass there is a noticable drop in (pressure/flow?) but is livable.

I isolated both supply and return pipes to / from the solar, good flow in both.
There is good flow through the solar.

So my initial questions are:
A) Do 90's (slow/restrict) (flow/pressure) ?
B) What is the effect of line length?

Any other constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated.

PS: I am in Florida and the collector tanks are (2) 40 gal. well pump tanks and (1) 40 gal electric heater tank stripped out of the cover and insulation.

Leejosepho

DIY scratch-pad engineer
Reaction score
Website
www.nonameyet.org
So my initial questions are:
A) Do 90's (slow/restrict) (flow/pressure) ?
B) What is the effect of line length?