Crossover recirculation?

Users who are viewing this thread

D. Shelston

Reaction score
I'm new with a tankless and not happy with the wasted water and time to get hot water at the shower head...

My tankless has a built-in recirculating pump but only to be used with a dedicated return line. I do not have return lines.

Guess I need to install another external pump on the hot side, near the outlet and a crossover gizmo at the furthest faucet. Would this work? One question I have is, if the pump runs constantly, what happens when the temp has been reached and the crossover closes...

Thank you.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail 5th session completed 4/24/24.
Solutions
Reaction score
There are kits out there and some run on a timer (less costly) when to turn on the circulator pump at certain time intervals. Smart units (more costly) use a water flow sensor and temperature sensor. You want the one using the cold water pipe as a return.
https://readytemp.com/

Bannerman

Reaction score
not happy with the wasted water and time to get hot water at the shower head...
That situation is not unique to tankless as the same situation will occur with a conventional tank-type WH. The pipe diameter and distance between the WH & fixture will determine the time and quantity of cool water needing to be eliminated before hot water will arrive at each fixture.

My tankless has a built-in recirculating pump but only to be used with a dedicated return line.
The existing internal pump may be able to be utilized depending on the pump configuration in relation to the loop return line connection.

You didn't mention the brand and model of your tankless unit but Navien units equipped with an internal pump allow utilizing either the home's cold water lines or a dedicated return line for circulation.

Fitter30

Reaction score