Amateur needs help with bathroom fan & light switch wiring

Users who are viewing this thread

Marbrus

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm hoping I could get some (much needed) help with my bathroom fan and light-switch wiring.
First off, I'm an amateur, but I've watching/reading as much as I can to understand electricity, but I think I need some expert advice, to untangle this mess.
If this is the wrong place, my apologies, I'll quietly delete my thread and move on.

The background: My bathroom light started to flicker and then would intermittently not work. Yes, I checked, changed the lighting fixture, and it was not the problem. Seems like it was loose/bad wiring. I stripped and re-wired the light-switch and it worked well for about a week, and then started to work on and off intermittently again :(
It feels like I need to go “further up the wiring in the wall” to see where the bad connection is. After removing the fan and light-switch and trying to pull out the junction box, I had even more question about the wiring. I have a feeling the previous owner was an amateur electrician, so I’m worried that there may be mistakes.

I see 3 main wiring feeds coming into the box. Each has a hot (black), neutral (white) and a ground??? (steel/red/copper?!?).

So let me start asking questions:
1) So, correct me if I’m wrong, I guess the 1st feed is for one power source, (say the fan), the 2nd feed is for the light, and I guess the 3rd would be to continue a feed to another place/room/etc.?
2) Is this OK, that the 3 neutrals are all just tied together?? Shouldn’t they be acting as return feeds? Shouldn’t this be wired differently?? Advice please. :)

I would really appreciate any help on this.
These pics, I hope help explain what I'm talking about.
3 feeds labelled.jpg

A bit out(jpg).jpg

Thanks everyone.

-Mac

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score