Search results

1. Disney1984

Home Hydronic System - How do I Flush it Out?

Hi everyone. I'm not a professional plumber, but I do a lot of my own work. I have a roughly 22-year-old Apollo home hydronic system. There are two lines that come off the side of my water heater that supply/return water to a radiator in my attic. I'm planning to turn on my heater in November...
  2. Disney1984

Too Much Pressure in Water Heater?

I changed out the expansion tank about 3 weeks ago and everything is working perfectly now. The T & P valve is no longer releasing water and the internal water heater pressure doesn't go much higher than the incoming water pressure. The old expansion tank was completely full of water. I'm not a...
  3. Disney1984

I appreciate all of the advice! I was looking at the flexible tube going to the expansion tank and I was wondering how it was sealing, since I couldn't see any Teflon tape on the existing threads. The rubber washer makes complete sense and now I know how its sealing. Thank you! I plan to set the...
  4. Disney1984

I have a smaller 2-gallon tank and I'm thinking of upgrading it to a 4-gallon tank. I've been researching how to replace it myself. I have a gas water heater. This is the process I'm thinking of using to replace the expansion tank. Does it sound right to you? 1) Turn off the water heater and...
  5. Disney1984

I've attached a photo of my expansion tank and the piping at the top of my water heater. I'm feeling confident about my expansion tank having failed. The tank is really heavy like its full of water. I depressed the Shrader valve and nothing came out. Not water or air. Yes, the water pressure at...
  6. Disney1984

I appreciate your response Terry. Do you still think I may still need a PRV after my recent posts? Do you think I need a PRV in addition to the tp valve?
  7. Disney1984