Recent content by AAnderson

1. AAnderson

Navien Tankless Water Heater Comments and questions

I'm going to add to this topic again. when they first hit our local central california coast market, I liked them but the problem of low flow cut out became a problem and changing boards became a regular task for us. What did become a problem was the issue remained after the 1 year labor ran out...
  2. AAnderson

I'm jumping in here late in this thread. i have been installing tankless for over 30 years and was named the Authorized Service Provider of the year (western region) for Rinnai and have installed Navien as long as they have been available here in northern California. There are several things to...
  3. AAnderson

Need New Gas Lines From Meter Run. Thoughts on What Plumber Told Me Option Wise

1 1/4" in hard pipe and the rest in a branch configuration using trac or other brands of flex gas pipe makes sense. Piping today with all hard piping is going backwards.
  4. AAnderson

HOw do you clean a tankless coil.?

Any pump with plastic vane, 3/8' X (FITTING SIZE TO HEATER) 1/22 HP is fine. You are going to run the pump less than an hour. Use enough solution to fill the heat exchanger and the equal amount in a dedicated container with a sealed lid. Neutralize the solution when done and discharge where legal.
  5. AAnderson

HOw do you clean a tankless coil.?

Never use a cleaning solution that is not food grade rated and this includes muriatic acid and CLR. Use white vinegar, citric acid and or the available solutions for tankless heat exchangers. These are cleaned in place not removed and soaked. Could you post what brand this is and a few...
  6. AAnderson

Ridiculous gas bills with Naviens!!

Why two Navien's? What is your total fixture demand?
  7. AAnderson

Ridiculous gas bills with Naviens!!