Sump pump analysis paralysis

Users who are viewing this thread

BlkSC

Reaction score
Hello all, first time poster but I've read more threads here than I can count...and that has led me to analysis paralysis. A lot of this may be useless info but I want to paint the best picture I can in hopes of getting the best answer. First bit of useless information, I'm an electrician by trade and plumbing isn't high on my list of things I like to do...electricity gets loose and it (should) trip a breaker...water gets loose...f-ed.

In 2016, I bought a house that was built in 1999. For approximately 2 years before I bought it, the house was foreclosed on and sat vacant. Of course, because there was no power, the finished basement got water in it...but the bank paid someone to remove all the carpet and replace the bottom four feet of the sheetrock throughout before they put it up for sale. From the few things that weren't replaced (the bathroom vanity), it doesn't look like the water got more than a couple inches high.

Before I even moved in, I bought a Zoeller M82 pedestal sump pump as I was just certain I'd find the installed sump pump (1/3hp Wayne pedestal pump, 18"x24" sump, 1.5" discharge that travels up 5.5', 5' horizontally outside and down underground all the way out to the curb, I'd guess 100'...maybe 150') dead. To my surprise it worked...and has continued to work since I moved in. So I figured I'd just keep the new sump pump as a spare. For the first couple years, the sump pump rarely ran, only when it would rain fairly heavy for a longer period of time and never runs in the winter or middle of summer.