Pipe Dope, Plumbers Putty, or Teflon Tape?

Users who are viewing this thread

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I've never had a problem using tape on CPVC threads. You don't want to thread into a plastic (CPVC or PVC) fitting though. I prefer the plastic male adapter to thread to a female fitting. They do make a stainless reinforced CPVC fitting though which works well.

cpvc-female-2.jpg

cpvc-male-adapter-terrylove.jpg

Oldman Ludicrous

Reaction score
Website
goop.link
Thanx. I'm new at the game- at least with PVC.
(heh- ask me about computers sometime. Fifty+ years as a techie -everything from S360/370 to Raspberries)
Your 2nd pic above is confusing. -
a ¾" CPVC male adapter? Looks like a male brass thread into a female CPVC.
Anyhow, I'm gonna fit my male adapters onto the brass ball valve with some Oatey white dope,
and then glue the slip-on ends to the original CPVC pipe. And hope it doesn't leak.
If it does? Well, simply saw off another inch of the old CPVC, and try again. Maybe with Teflon tape. I think I can do this at least 10-15 times before I run out of pipe. ;)-)
If worse comes to worst, I'll glue a CPVC end-stopper onto what's left of the original CPVC and call a professional plumber!

Michael Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
Any general rules for using which, when, why? Or the opposite, why /not/ to use which, when? :)

Thanks...

NEVER use tape on gas appliances or gas piping!!!
Always use about 4 spins of teflon tape on your threaded fittings
Some people use teflon tape with a little brush of pipe dope (kinda overkill)
I rarely use plumbers putty. I usually use clear silicone instead. Fewer leaks.
and yes, I know you guys use plumbers putty. But silicone works better

-mike

Last edited by a moderator:

Mr Andy

Reaction score