Re: I am totally baffled
Posted by Sloosh on April 11, 2004 at 09:07:04:
In response to Re: I am totally baffled
: : Hello, I hope someone here can help.

: : I am a second year UA apprentice in NJ and one of my mechanics gave me several code questions and 3 math ones, he loves busting my Onions.

: : Can anyone please give me the answers to the following as I have been looking all over and cannot find these answers.

: : 1-The strainer inlet for a 3" leader line is?

: : A- 7" B- 9" C- 11 " D - 14"

: :
: : 2- A 3" pipe full flow of 180 GPM has a velocty of ?

: : 3- A pump is pumping 50 GPM with an efficency of 75% what is the horse power of this pump?

: : Would this really be plumbing questions or is just busting my chops?

: : Thank you so much, Arthur

: Wow, your Journeyman must think very highly of you to ask these questions as these are normally given on tests to 4th and 5th year folks.
:
: Your very fortunate to have a mechanic who wants to teach you the why not just how.
:
: The first question is a humdinger of a question and I had to read it several times before it hit me it is a code question not just simple math.
:
: Anyone can find the area of cylinder (pipe) BUT the mechanic said "leader" thus things change
:
: The very first question a decent mechanic would ask is what type of leader drain is this for?
:
: Promenade deck or roof / area drain used for weather protection only?
:
: If it is strictly used for a "leader" we can probably assume it is for a weather protection and on a roof or possibly a building set back.
:
: Either way this question is basic "code" lets start off with the simple stuff 1st.
:
: Leader 3" diameter Would be as follows Pi x radius squared correct? Equals 7.06 inches?
:
:
: If you agree Arthur we move on to step two.
:
: Now being a future mechanic you know it can't be that simple so you think and say
:
: "hey wait a minute suppose this is wide open pipe stuff can fall in huh?"
: