toilet DWV design
Posted by Doug on March 17, 2003 at 10:40:00:
I am remodeling a bathroom which involves relocating the toilet and sink. I am attempting to use the existing vent for the toilet, and the existing drain stack for both the toilet and sink. The drain stack and much of the plumbing under the bathroom is in a semi-finished room in the basement, so I can access most items after moving the drop ceiling out of the way.

I have two options for the toilet DWV design, and I�m trying to figure out which one is best. I have read what I think is a good plumbing book (�plumbing a house�) and reviewed code guidelines, but I am still not certain as to the pros/cons of each solution. I should note that I am a beginner plumber, but I am fairly confident in reading through DIY stuff and tackling new projects with success. I�ve done copper before but not DWV.

In the current configuration, the toilet drains about 2 feet horizontally to a vertical sanitary T before going down, turning horizontally about 2 feet to the main vertical drain stack. The washing machine and another sink drain into the same drain vertically above where the toilet drain enters, i.e. in the �vent� for the toilet.

Option 1: I can essentially replicate the same vertical sanitary T connection in the same location, but because of where I�m locating the toilet, the drain line will now have about 4-5 feet to run horizontally before entering the sanitary T (and connecting with it�s vertical vent), going down and reversing direction via a 3� 90 deg turn (not exactly, but close) to go backwards 2 feet to the drain stack. Certainly not the most direct route for the toilet waste. Questions: (1) Is there a guideline on how far from the toilet the vent should start ?; (2) Will I have any problems with this length or path of horizontal drain pipes ?