Re: Plumber Rip-offs
Posted by Even more oissed off then you on February 20, 2003 at 16:27:32:
In response to Re: Plumber Rip-offs
: : I recently had a plumber/thief come roto-root my sewer pipe. He took 1 hour and charged me $175. If you want $175/hr, you damn well better be operating on my heart or brain.

: : I'm an attorney, from now on, any plumber, or any other contractor rip-off artist, will be paying double my going rate.

:
: Pissed, you are missing an important distinction. An hourly worker could be hired for, say 10 or 20 bucks an hour. This worker could probably clear out your line, although you'd probably have to tell him what to do and provide the tools. (Maybe not a big deal.)

: What you did, instead, was contract with a company for a result. You didn't contract for an hour of time. You didn't hire an individual to be your laborer. You sought a final product-a clear line. Nothing else matters.

: When a company prices its goods or services, a lot more goes into it than the cost for each good or service. Tradesmen, believe it or not, have shops and offices, and actually do have to drive from their shop to your location. They are only making that drive because you have requested it. They are not waiting on your block just in case you might need something.

: Since you claim to be a lawyer, let's look at legal costs. If I visit a lawyer, all he really does is talk, listen, or read papers. And charge a high hourly price. But what am I really paying for?

: Well, I'm paying for your expertise, instead of hiring a less qualified attorney. I'm paying for all the things that your office needs to run (copiers, phones, postage meters, lights, heat, air conditioning, rent, insurance, support staff, etc.) But I'm not using your copier, your heat, your postage meter, your insurance, etc. I shouldn't have to pay for them, right?