electrical

1. B

Can I just disconnect and cover a live junction box?

I currently have 3 pendant lights over my kitchen island. They are very small and close to each other. I would like to remove the middle light fixture permanently and drywall patch the whole. I plan to replace the 1st and 3rd fixtures with matching larger light fixtures. I have not removed...
  2. W

Changed lower element, burnt up upper temp controller??

TYIA. So about 3 weeks ago I changed our lower heating element. It has been working amazing, actually it was too hot, so I had to turn it down 3-4 days ago. This morning at 4am I had my wife waking me up asking if it smells like fire, it did. This is what I found... Upper temp controller. I...
  3. M

Amateur needs help with bathroom fan & light switch wiring

Hello all, I'm hoping I could get some (much needed) help with my bathroom fan and light-switch wiring. First off, I'm an amateur, but I've watching/reading as much as I can to understand electricity, but I think I need some expert advice, to untangle this mess. If this is the wrong place, my...
  4. CommanderDave

Wiring Timer to GFCI Outlet

I have a 20A GFCI outlet that I want to wire a timer to that will control a ceiling exhaust fan. However the timer I have requires connection to a 3 wire (B,W,R-G) box, but the GFCI outlet is only powered by 2 wire (B,W-G); it also services three other outlets. So my question is can I wire the...
  5. Terry

Copper pipe shocked me!!

I was looking at a 3" ABS drain for a toilet in the basement, standing on the plastic toilet seat, accidently touched the 1" copper pipe and WOW!! I got shocked. The copper pipe right here. And then I went outside to check the grounding on the panel, just one rod in the ground, and nudging...
  6. Jeremy Porter

My meter runs ridiculously fast when my water heater breaker is on