shower pan

1. K

Weep holes, mildew smell and fear...

Mildew smell in our master bath. Thought it was bath mats. It's not. Husband thought it was coming from outside the walk-in shower, possibly moisture under the LVP (maybe a leak from the shower); smell is far stronger from the weep hole directly on the other side, inside the shower. There's...
  2. Brian Kehlmeier

Waterproof layer between mortar and subfloor for shower pan?

I have read in these forums various materials used to decouple the mortar bed from the OSB subfloor, but I question its purpose. If the shower pan is being screwed into the studs it makes sense, but the Dreamline shower pan I am using does not. It seems to me that I would WANT the mortar to...
  3. Elliot Coard

Old Subfloor Under Cast Iron Tub

Hey everyone, this is my first DIY renovation. I'm mechanically inclined (Auto tech by trade), and I pride myself on research, just so I have a general idea and am not completely ignorant to what's going on. :cool: With that being said, My home was built in 1924, I just gutted the bathroom, and...
  4. Billy Smith

any1 know of any shower base pans w/o pre-cut hole or ....?

or.... should i get a plumber? Thank you Terry Love for the info a week ago about how you would have to change the plumbing underneath to match the new hole...that makes sense...... i learn something everyday....im 25 and not the best construction guy but i can figure a decent amount out...
  5. Billy Smith

Question about Shower Base Pan Hole Install. T.Y.!

Hello, thanks for reading this and my question i have is about when i goto put in a new shower base pan, the locating of the hole with the new kits.... will it line up or does it come as a "holeless" pan and you make a hole yourself?.....okay so i have a 5 year old shower enclosure thats getting...
  6. digitalsam

Mortar Shower Pan Timing Question