advice on tricky sink waste rough-in

Users who are viewing this thread

fineline

Design/Build
Reaction score
hi all,

I'm just getting into my kitchen remodel and need some advice on how to run the kitchen waste and supply lines. Hopefully the attached photos with notes should show it all, but in a nutshell -- I am relocating the existing sink approx. 36" from its current location, the problem is the floor joist sits flush with the inside edge of the sill plate, so if I try to drill through the bottom plate I end up inside a cavity created by the rim joist, sill plate and floor joist. Obviously I don't want to cut through the floor joist like the original run does - see photo. The previous solution was to come out of the stud bay with a 45 and then turn it with another 45 down through the floor (see photo) -- I don't love this solution because its going to make my cabinet install more difficult and frankly it just doesn't look professional to me. Just a note on the first photo - the red highlighted area just shows the face and bottom of the floor joist, I thought it was a little unclear in the photo exactly where the joist was.

Any suggestions on this one?

Attachments

• WasteLineDiagram_lo.jpg
    WasteLineDiagram_lo.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 394
  • OldSinkPlumbing copy.jpg
    OldSinkPlumbing copy.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 419
  • JoistCut.jpg
    JoistCut.jpg
    71.4 KB · Views: 401

Cookie

Reaction score
You have 2 choices:

#1. You can completely remove the drain, vent, and water line from their present place and move it 36 in over to the right, and as far forward as necessary to miss the joist; and redrill and replace all of the lines and run a new vent to the attic. Doing this may make connecting to the sink a problem due to its orientation to where the sink will be.

Or: