Basic Soldering - Shower Installation

Users who are viewing this thread

JohnO

Reaction score
This past weekend I converted my two handle shower system to a one handle system. This is my first attempt at installing a new bathroom - shower only with no tub. It took 6 attempts before I got it to the point it would not leak. Just a few questions:

1 - I had to solder close to the new shower assembly. While there is no visible damage, could the heat from the soldering destroy anything?

2 - I bought a 5 foot 1/2 inch copper pipe from Lowe's, and I think most of the problem was attributed to the 1/2 inch pipe not securing holding a joint (i.e 90 degree elbow). I bought a 10 ft one from Home Depot and the fit was much more snug. Is there a rule of thumb for how tight it should be?

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
1. You can solder into the valve, or into the fittings that screw into the valve, on the bench before you install it. That protects the valve. Of course you would pull out the cartridge before soldering on the valve.

2. I have had much better luck when soldering with a tinning flux such as Oatey 95. Apply it liberally to both the male and female parts after thorough abrasive or wire cleaning.

3. Always apply heat to the external part of the joint; not the tube. I apply heat to the joint on one side until the parts (fitting and tube) are hot enough on the side opposite the flame to melt the solder well. Then withdraw the heat and finish applying the solder all around.

Practice before the real thing.

If you get a leak, then you must be sure to remove all of the water before you resolder the joint.

It probably isn't a problem with a shower valve, but the pipe you are soldering should always be vented to air. Otherwise, the pressure caused by heating the air in the pipe will blow solder out of the joint.

Prashster

Reaction score
The shower valve should be opened and the o-rings and plastic fittings inside should be removed prior to soldering.