Shower hot water issue - hot from tub faucet, lukewarm from shower head

Users who are viewing this thread

mikea128

Reaction score
Newbie here - I've tried searching with no luck, so here I am posting away. :)

As the title of this post states, I get only lukewarm water out of the showerhead in my 2nd bath, but plenty of hot water out of the tub faucet. My master bath works normally with plenty of hot water from both outlets. This happens immediately and in no way appears to be related to running out of hot water.

The house is only about 2 years old and I suspect it's been this way from the beginning - I just never knew until my new roommate brought it up immediately after moving in and my old roommate said it's always been the same. Wish someone had told me while I still had my new home warranty...

Any ideas?

FWIW, I have the C-635 single handle setup from Delta with push button diverter in both showers. Link here: http://www.deltafaucet.com/wps/portal/deltacom/kcxml/04_Sj9SPykssy0xPLMnMz0vM0Y_QjzKLd4439vIDSZnFW8aHOepHogtZIoR8PfJzU4ESkeZAAcugAP2onNT0xORK_dA8_bC8_KJcoKHB-t76AfoFuaER5cWpjgDKHhAZ/delta/base64xml/L0lJSk03dWlDU1lKSkpKQSEvb013d0FBRVlnQUNFSVFoQ0VFSWhGS0lZd0EhIS80RkdnZFluS0owRlJvWGZyQ0c5VTNZUSEvN19DXzlSUC8yNTA1MzM3L3NhLnNwZl9BY3Rpb25MaXN0ZW5lcg!!?PC_7_C_9RP_spf_strutsAction=!2fviewProductDetail.do&PC_7_C_9RP_group=TubShower&PC_7_C_9RP_collection=Classic&PC_7_C_9RP_pid=635&PC_7_C_9RP_area=Bath&PC_7_C_9RP_function=TubShower&PC_7_C_9RP_task=DfcProductDetail#

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
It sounds like a diverter issue. There may be a pebble or something lodged where the hot water passes through the diverter when it's in the shower position. You won't know until someone takes it apart.

mikea128

Reaction score
Verdeboy said:
It sounds like a diverter issue. There may be a pebble or something lodged where the hot water passes through the diverter when it's in the shower position. You won't know until someone takes it apart.