Stubborn faucet flange won't budge

Users who are viewing this thread

Innova

Reaction score
Guys, I posted this in Bathrooms and Tubs...but I think this is more a plumbing question than a remodel one. So I hope you don't mind me posting again here.

A 1" high lavatory pitted flange I want to replace. Closed bathroom,
no windows...20 years of hardwater.

It ain't budging off the threads. Tho I didn't have a strap wrench handy...the
channel lock pliers I used gripped pretty well. Plenty of muscle torque.
I let it soak with CLR for awhile. Not long enuff?

What do you guys do in this case? I'm a painting contractor and I'm pretty
handy guy. I'm thinking of taking my Dremel Tool with the small circular ceramic
cut off blade and just going at the sucker. I'm thinking of cutting straight down
(on the side) and then prying it off.

I don't care about damage to nipple...replacing it.

Does this sound like the plan?

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
I would try a large, curved channel locks. If that didn't work, I'd heat it up with a torch. And if that didn't work, I'd cut it off with my rotozip or a sawzall with hacksaw blade. BTW, there's no need to double post. We look at all the categories.

Last edited:

Innova

Reaction score
What brand? As if I installed it originally? I looked below at the nipple and saw no markings. Want a pic? What will that tell you?

With all due respect...what do you have to add besides me going at it with my Dremel tool and ceramic cutoff blade.

No disrespect intended. But you MUST have come across some pretty damn calcium frozen on flanges in your time.

Did all of them come off with a twist?

I know I said I didn't have a strap wrench. AND... I have a wrench underneath secured to the nipple against the wall. I can put as much twist pressure as I want now.

I still have a feeling that even with a strap wrench...this sucker is frozen.

What do you guys do then? Maybe you've never had such a problem?