How do I Install A Toilet Flange on a cast iron Soil pipe in the basement

Users who are viewing this thread

bryankamy

Reaction score
Hi all, Im trying to finish off what looks to be a roughed in bath room off my laundry room in my garden level basement. There is a 4" cast iron soil pipe sticking up 2" from the cement floor pluged with cement that I would like to attach a toilet flange to with out having to chip out the cement around it if I can. Any ideas? The center of the soil pipe will be about 12" from the finished wall, will that be a problem? Any feedback would be very welcome!! Thanks all!!!
Bryan

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The 12" from a finished wall will let you use practically any toilet, as that is the standard in the USA. I've never attached a flange to cast iron (I'm not a pro), but my guess is that there are probably internal clamping flanges. In the "old" days, my guess is that they would use oakem and lead, but there are easier ways today.

bryankamy

Reaction score
Thanks Jim, I guess I'll head down to the local plumbing store and ask if they have an internal flange. Wish me luck! Oh and do you have any Ideas about cutting down the soil pipe? It's cast iron so I dont think my SawsAll will work to good?
Thanks Again!!
Bryan

Deb

Plumber
Reaction score
Deb

"...Im trying to finish off what looks to be a roughed in bath room off my laundry room in my garden level basement..."
I think that it might be a good idea to determine if this is really a stub out for a toilet--it could have been meant to be something like a floor drain. The 12" from the wall is the standard rough-in for a WC, so it probably is, but you cannot arbitrarily plop a toilet down on a convenient drain pipe sticking up out of the floor. Is this vented? Correctly? Make sure that there is not a p-trap on this line.
Deb
The Pipewench

JDkimes

Engineer
Reaction score