Shallow Well Pump Problems

Users who are viewing this thread

vote4pedro

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to Well and Pumps so I could use all the help that anyone can give me.
Here's my problem. I have a 1,550 gal. water tank that I use primarily for washing clothes. I have a 1HP stainless steel shallow well pump that has a 5 gal. pressure tank built onto the pump. The pump is a Central Machinery and I bought from Harbor Freight. The pump is losing pressure, for about a month I have been putting air in the tank to keep the correct pressure. When the pump is not in use the pressure will go to (0). Now I can't even use the pump at all, When I put air in the tank, I lose it instantly. The pressure slowly goes to zero (0) and I can hear it bubbling back into the water tank. I have no idea what could be wrong. I would greatly appreciate any advise on this.

Just to give you some idea how I have everything setup.
I have the 1,550 gal. water tank, water line runs into a check valve, that goes into the pump/5gal. pressure tank, then that comes out the outtake side into a filter, and then into the house.

Thanks again for the help and time.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
My guess is that the problem is the 1 HP pump with 5 gallon tank from Harbor Freight. Is this what you have? http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=47906

Where do you put air in the tank? Via the water line? Or into a separate air valve on the tank?

If into the tank, and it immediately bubbles into the supply tank then you have both a bladder failure (if it ever had a bladder) and a check valve failure.

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
It sounds like The pressure/bladder tank has failed and needs to be replaced.

vote4pedro

Reaction score
Bob NH,
This is exactly the pump that I have.
I put air into the tank bladder by a separate air valve on the tank. How would I know if the tank has a bladder? What Should be the steps on what to check first?