Pumptrol Switch Step by Step Replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

fromjusttheking

Reaction score
I am a newbie when it comes to wells and pumps. Our water pressure is not quite high enough at our 2nd floor shower using a 30/50 9013FSG2 Pumptrol pressure switch. I bought a new 40/60 Pumptrol switch, but there were no instructions at all enclosed. I am not sure as to the specific sequence to follow in replacing the switch.

In reviewing many of the postings, I didn't find any step-by-step instructions as to exactly what sequence should be followed in making the replacement. I don't want to screw up what is currently working, (with lower water pressure) by doing something stupid, like guessing how to do it.

Could some knowledgeable souls please provide step-by-step instructions on how to do it correctly? Will I have to set the large (and/or small) screw settings as well? I'm sure others like me new to this will benefit from your expertise and wisdom.

Thanks very much in advance for your help and this wonderful forum.

Alan

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
First thing that comes to mind is "Is your pump capable of producing 60 pounds of pressure?".

Do you know the characteristics of your pump and well?

Assuming it is okay, you need to do two things, adjust the pressure in your bladder tank to the new, higher value (in this case 38#) which is done with the pump off and a water valve opened to drain off any water under pressure, and then replace the switch (see next, though).

The new switch should not need adjustment...in fact, your old one could be adjusted to raise the pressure - it doesn't need to be replaced. With that in mind, you could save the new one as a backup if the old one dies. The larger adjustment changes both the on and off settings while maintaining the separation (i.e., 20 pounds). The smaller adjustment changes the offset between the on/off settings.

fromjusttheking

Reaction score