Reasons for basement plumbing setup?

Users who are viewing this thread

karsc01

Reaction score
Reasons for this basement plumbing setup?

I'm considering finishing my basement and putting in a bathroom with a sewage pump (or grinder pump). I've been researching various aspects of it for a few months now. However my current plumbing setup seems to be a little interesting and I'm looking for comments.
I have two bathrooms in the house currently and neither is over the basement. One bathroom is over a slab and all the plumbing for it is in the slab. This seems to go right out to the septic tank. The second bathroom has plumbing for the toilet going out the wall and to the septic tank but the sink and shower seem to be routed through a 2" pipe to the basement.
So... in the basement there are pipes from the clothes washer, 1 bathroom sink, and 2 kitchen sinks only. They join into one 2" pipe that connects to the 4" cast iron outlet which goes through the basement wall. There's no house trap (that I can see), only the regular traps at the sinks. I have a few questions since this only seems to be grey water with no sewage and I may not put a bathroom in at all if I have to touch the old cast iron cleanout. It's in a difficult spot and has old oakum lead seals.
1) Is there some reason that a plumber would route the toilet and sink/shower separately? Why might the toilet in that bathroom be routed out through the side of the house (under ground of course) directly to the septic tank but the sink/shower routed the other direction to the basement and tied into the 4" outlet pipe there?
2) Could the reason be that there's 2 septic tanks? I thought there was only one but I've never had them mapped out or pumped. What would I need to worry about in this situation?