water main shut-off problem (leaks)

Users who are viewing this thread

drb const

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a general contractor doing a bath remodel in a colder climate location (not my usual area), and encountered a problem trying to shut-off the water main (which is located under the house accessed thru a small panel on the floor). When I turn the paddle style valve towards the off position (1/4 turn to the right), the valve starts pissing water out of a tiny hole (approx. 1/16") on the side. I'm able to turn it the full 1/4, thinking that I just needed to fully engage it the full 1/4 turn to get it to stop, but at that point it is at full pressure.

I've also located the water main on the street, but that has the same problem.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks,
drb

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
First, I'm not a pro, but I think I've read that some valves have a little drain hole in them that, once turned off, facilitates draining the water out of the area it fed. Most of those seemto have a cap on them. If so, then it should stop, but only after as much of the water as suction will allow will have been drained out of the house.

Last edited:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score