Pump cycling too often after not using for winter.

Users who are viewing this thread

WellNoob

Reaction score
First off, I am a complete newbie when it comes to wells, so thanks for any help.

I have both a well and city water. My well only feeds an exterior faucet, city water feeds my interior. During the winter, I turn off my well pump and don't use it until spring.

My equipment: Well-X-Trol by AMTROL Model WX-202. Square D 40/60 switch, submersible pump (Franklin?)

I noticed after turing on my well pump today and using the faucet, that the pump keeps cycling on and off about every 10 or 15 seconds. I watch the pressure and it moves between ~36 and ~64 psi and back in that 10 second interval.

I then checked my pressure tank pressure and it was showing no pressure. So I charged it to 38PSI.

It is still cycling the same, which is obviously way too much. It's almost like there is no water in the pressure tank and it's using only the directly pumped well water.

(added)
When the faucet is not opened, the guage is showing 56psi and the pump does not kick in at all.

Do I have to wait for a while now that I have the pressure tank pressurized correctly? Any other thoughts as to why this is happening?

Thanks,

Jeff
"WellNoob"

Last edited:

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
Try to check the gauges. When you get some water in the tank, shut off the power and compare the water pressure gauge with the air pressure that you measure with a tire gauge. Any difference is error in one or the other, or both.

Since you had no air pressure, there is a good chance that you have either a leak in the bladder, or a leak in the tank.

I once worked on a tank where the bladder was fastened down near the outlet of the tank. There was a hole rusted through the tank on the bottom. It wouldn't hold air for more than about 30 minutes. I wasted a lot of time before I figured out that problem.

Rusting is a common problem for systems that are shut down.

WellNoob

Reaction score