Back to back toilets

Users who are viewing this thread

dallas homeowner

Reaction score
newbie here, so likely an elementary question, however would certainly value any input or advice.

We have lived in our home for 1 year (bought it new), and we have back/back bathrooms downstairs - one bathroom is 1/2 bath with toilet/sink - other is toilet only which hangs off master bath.

Issue we have is when we flush the toilet off our master bath (which lines up directly behind the other), the 1/2 bath toilet splashes water out of it with a few big bubbles that come up. Both toilets are standard 1.6 gpf (one is a briggs and one is an eljer if it matters).

Only other info is before we figured out the other toilet was bubbling, we had slightly detected a sewer gas type odor somewhere in the vicinity of the bathrooms- we had spent a few months troubleshooting this by changing wax rings / doubling up wax rings, etc. but did not help.

However, now that we luckily saw the bubbling firsthand, I would assume we have either some type of blockage? or venting issue? or issue with how the 2 toilets share a vent pipe? does it matter the toilets are different brands?

Last edited by a moderator:

Tbplumbloco

Reaction score
back to back

What you have described sounds like a clogged drain,if the problem began day one that you moved in then there may be some merit to a problem with the distance of the closet bends to the vent serving the sanitary cross.

dallas homeowner

Reaction score
thanks - is there a max limitation from the cross to outside vent?

is there a max limitation from the cross to outside vent (that is if I understood your question correctly)? thanks in advance.

Tbplumbloco

Reaction score
Yes,from the outlet of the toilet,or the closet bend,the pipe is to be at least 18"in length to the connection at the cross,(double sanitary tee)

dallas homeowner

Reaction score
update - had plumber come out - need Feedback pls.