(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: 1 diverter or 2?

Question 1 diverter or 2?

Hi
    We are installing a whirlpool,shower combo next week and I have a question regarding the plumbing. My wife would really like a rain shower, which is no problem, I have lowered the ceiling 3 inches for the copper line. She would also like a lower placed handheld unit for cleaning the tub. Is it possible to have a double diverter to allow the water to drain out of the rainshower and also the handheld. I'm new here,I hope you understand my question
    Thanks
    Dave

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Yeah, it can be done. You may not get much flow unless you have a 3/4" supply line, and it takes a lot of hot water. Depending on the brand of fixture, 3-way divertor valves are available.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

I just had my line increased to a 3/4" coming in, but knocked it down to a 1/2'at the tee. Not to concerned about the hot water, we have a large tank, could you recommend a company that sells these ie. A/S, Kohler, Delta? My wife saw some faucets she liked at HD. they are called Pegasus, part of another firm, Glacier Bay I think, ever hear of them?
    Thanks
    Dave

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

I'm not a pro...in my remodeling, I've been using Grohe stuff. Some people love em, some hate em. HD's Expo centers carry them, and Lowes, but you don't see them at the orange boxes. Personally, I also like a temperature controlled valve - set the desired temp and don't worry about it, summer to winter, first shower or last - always the same temp (until you run out!). You can view most of their stuff at their website. *********.com carries a bunch of different brands if you wanted to go on-line.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro