Insulation & moisture barrier needed in SoCal?

Users who are viewing this thread

jheels

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here. This is my 1st post.
I live in Southern California & my house is about 45 yrs old. I'm installing a "Sterling Vikrell" shower enclosure w/ receptacle. When I tore out the existing shower there wasn't any insulation or moisture barrier, even though two of the shower walls are outside walls. The old shower had mud walls w/ showerboard.
The Vikrell shower is supposed to attach directly to the studs, but I have several questions, so here go's.

1. Should I install fiberglass insulation w/ a moisture barrier behind the Vikrell shower walls?

2. If so, should the paper on the insulation face the inside (towards the shower) or outside (towards the stucco) of the wall?

3. Do I need to insulate all the way up to the ceiling, or can I just insulate to the heighth of the shower wall? (Right now the opening in the drywall only goes to 4" above the heighth of the shower wall. I don't really want to tear off anymore drywall than neccessary).

4. What is the best moisture barrier to use?

5. If I don't install any insulation, should I still use a moisture barrier?

6. The inside shower wall has an electrical outlet & light switch in it for the power room on the opposite side. What condsideration should be made regarding them?

Sorry soooo many questions. I want to do it right, so I don't have any problems later.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Jheels

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score