Questionable rough-in diagram

Users who are viewing this thread

Magicalpig

Reaction score
102pglg.jpg

I posted this to the remodeling group today, since I AM remodeling, but I think it's more of a rough-in question and I didn't get any answers there. Sorry for the repost

magicalpig said:
Hi everyone. It's been a while since I studied up on rough plumbing, so I would appreciate some comments on this plan.

I'm moving my kitchen sink to a position where it cannot be vented straight up. It will be under a window.

The drain/vent from my upstairs shower passes by the proposed sink location at a horizontal distance of about 2 feet away.

In the illustration you can see that the shower is the only fixture on this drain. However there is a wc and lav that might tie into its vent; I don't know.

Is what I'm planning what's known as a wet vent? I'm quite sure that's not allowed here, especially since it spans 2 floors. Or does a wet vent refer to using another fixture's HORIZONTAL drain as your vent, while my picture shows the sink tapping into another fixture's VERTICAL drain?

Well I'll try to stop wondering and questioning and await some more qualified answers. Thank you

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The original picture above is not wet vented.
I added venting where the red lines are.

Wet venting must be fixtures on the same floor and the pipe size is increased one size.

Neither of these two things are happening here.

The lower sink must have a vent run to the upper floor, where it can be revented above the shower or tub,

Or it must have an AAV valve on the trap arm.
Something like a Studor vent.

I also do not see that the toilet is vented.

Fixtures that "are" wet vented would look like the drawing below.

dwv_b1.jpg

Last edited:

Magicalpig

Reaction score