Need forum recommendatio-- building a fence

Users who are viewing this thread

Ho333ard

Reaction score
I know there are folks here who could tell me everything I need to know to build 48' of shadow-box fence, but I don't see an appropriate place to ask.
So, can anyone recommend a forum of the quality of this one in which such a question can be thoroughly addressed?
Thanks!
Howard, Chicago

Lakee911

I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP)
Reaction score
I would say that this is an apropriate place as any to ask. I mean, hey, you're remodeling you're backyard, eh?

I've got an older house, so sometimes I use the message board at http://www.oldhouseweb.com/ It's more general info than technical info though.

Jason

Ho333ard

Reaction score
Thanks!
I've never done anything remotely like this before.
I want to install a 5-foot tall, 48-foot fence.
I am leaning heavily towards evenly offset shadowbox using 6" dogear pickets, 8' 2x4 rails (3 rows), and 4x4 posts.

My first big question has to do with how to set the posts. Someone on another forum is trying to convince me I'm better off with gravel than concrete.
Would be interested in any thoughts on that . . .

Lakee911

Reaction score
You can really go either way. Some would say that setting it IN concrete would allow water to get in and sit in the hole around the wood. This could do damage to the post (rot) or concrete (crack in winter).

If you've got nice firm soil, I would dig your hole below frost line and tamp it down and pour a little mixxed aggregate sized gravel (couple inches deep) and tamp it again. Set your post on this and then backfill, tamping every 4 or 5 inches.