Laundry drain conundrum - drain CWM into bathtub?

Users who are viewing this thread

vga4life

Reaction score
Pardon my ignorance - I'm a professional computer geek, not a plumber.

I recently bought a condo apartment in Seattle and want to install a compact ventless clothes washer dryer combo unit to avoid trips to the basement laundry room. (Nothing in the bylaws limits my right to do this, fortunately.)

Naturally, the drain's the rub.

I have a walk-in closet that happens to be directly under the water heater (overhead in the storage loft so access to hot and cold supply is not a problem) and shares a common wall with the foot of the bathtub.

This gave me the idea of fixing the drain hose to a "dummy" tub spout (or otherwise running the hose through the wall) to drain into the bathtub. It seems like this would adequately provide for an air gap and the tub's ample capacity (many times that of the small front-loading washing machine) would adequately buffer the drainage flow over time.

Would this be a realistic alternative to spending many kilobucks cutting willy-nilly into the walls and/or subfloors to find and plumb into drains and vents? If not, why not?

Last edited:

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
The essence of engineering is to find the most economical way to satisfy the functional requirements while ensuring safety and all that stuff. Just make sure the washer drain is adequately secured so you don't flood anyone downstairs.

Now I'm sure there are lots of reasons such as the fact that it isn't permitted by the Universal Plumbing Code, but I can't think of a technical reason that it wouldn't work fine. Just don't tell anyone in your condo about it. And make sure that you regularly check the tub drain to make sure it doesn't plug with lint and overflow on the fourth load.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score