Dumb question - why not just have one trap for the entire house?

Users who are viewing this thread

Reaction score
I understand that all fixtures must have their own trap.

As a plumbing novice, I was thinking about something that I'm sure there's an answer to. If the purpose of a trap is to seal against sewer gases, wouldn't having one trap for the entire house be sufficient to do that? For example, what if on the main drain out of the house had a trap before it went into the ground? Wouldn't that trap seal off the rest of the house from sewer gases?

If there was only one trap, installation of fixtures would be easier and there would not be worries about siphoning water out of vents. I know there has to be a reason it won't work, otherwise it would be done that way.

Some reasons I can think of are that the smell from toilet waste wouldn't be sealed off from other drains. Also, don't drains allow you to clean out easier in the event of a clog or to retrieve items (e.g. earrings) dropped down a drain?

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
They used to have them, whole house trap, the ones I have seen were inline or running traps in 4" pipe just B4 it exited the house. The did away with them years ago.

Finnegan

Reaction score
That is a good question. I know that whole house traps were somewhat common years ago, but never (that I know of) installed today. I wonder if they often got clogged?

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
I don't know the real answer to the question either, but if there was only one trap and it did get clogged, your whole house could be flooded.

Techno Tim

Reaction score
Website
www.tapstore.com
The main reason for multipul traps.