(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Teflon Tape vs Joint Compound

Default Teflon Tape vs Joint Compound

Just a curiosity question from a total novice.
    What little pipe work I have had to do I have always preferred teflon tape just because it was less messy --
    But the guy at the Orange box recommende joint compound (RectorSeal 5) so I gave it a try.
    Pretty much every joint I made with joint compound - leaked - and I went back and used teflon tape -- leak gone.
    I am SURE part of the issue is user error --
    But -- is one generally considered superior in making leak free connections?

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Some plumbers use both. If applied properly and the connection is tightened enough and you (may have to) wait a little, either should work. With the tape, you should be able to open things up right away, I'm not sure about the pipe dope; have to read the instructions carefully.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

i use teflon tape for small joints (up too 1"). teflon paste on larger joints. It essentially does the same, but past is more practical on large joints.

I used to use tape and had little problem, but to me, pipe dope is easier. True, it is a bit messy, but tape has to be wrapped just right or it doesn't seal. I know some use both, and that's their choice, but I like the dope alone.

Default compound

I have used dope alone for over 50 years and it has served faithfully. If you had problems it was user error. I only use tape for PVC threaded connections.

hj- what compound do you like. Gasoila is my favorite but is a little pricy. It sticks to everything. Even hard to get off hands.

Re HJ
    Readily acknowledged - plumbing NOT my strong suit -
    My guess is Jad is right - I didn't let it set enough.

Computer geek by trade -- cabinet maker by hobby.