Removing old grout tile surface

Users who are viewing this thread

Mike50

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
My new Toto Aquia toilet is in-Now I have a rectangular line of old grout to remove. The Aquia footprint is oval
It's mexican paver saltillo floor--so some damage will occur-that's a given.
Thankfully the look is rustic and all tiles are each unique so blemishes blend in well.

But what tool etc might avoid gouging and reduce scratching to a minimum?
I thought Id ask before I start scraping with my putty knife.

Mike50

Sulconst2

Reaction score
anything wooden. use a wooden paint mixer like a chisel. when the end gets beat up cut some off. should get the big chunks off. then you need to scrape.

hey, how come your not working? or me for that matter!

Mike50

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
Hey...I knew I could rely on you. Wood sounds perfect.
Work. I'm one of the lucky ones that can get most of it done at home with phone and email and jpegs. I'm an art broker/graphics guy.
Internet changed the business for the better and occasionally worse.

You OTOH are in business....monkey business! LOL (kidding of course)

Mike50 :D

Last edited:

Mike50

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
OK. I just tried a flat wooden spoon. This is tough concrete grout
that wont come up with gentle chipping away
I may need to think about Plan B or leave it and call it the "industrial look" heh.

Or I may just have to 1.Live with it 2. Gouge it out and live with that.

removing toilet/replacing tile is not an option.

But this is a prominent focal point when you walk in the room (front of toilet. The good news is that the large 1/2 inch grout line runs thru and
parallel into the Aquia base.

John Bridge did a job that looks like mine with all the color irregularities on a much smaller scale-so you get the idea. (his isnt grouted though)
http://www.johnbridge.com/Saltillo_Tile_Photos.htm

Last edited:

Sulconst2

Reaction score