Tub drain to existing cast iron

Users who are viewing this thread

JMarine

Reaction score
Hello all - long time lurker first time caller.

Quick intro - I am a company pipeliner by trade (petroleum) so I know a little about pipe but wont insult the trade saying I know jack about plumbing.

Onto the question:

I have removed a shower stall from a slab grade bath and am left with a 4" cast iron p-trap. The last hub at grade before the waste stack turns to pvc says Tyler 4XH which I am guessing that means I have 4" extra heavy (thick walled?) pipe and fittings. What I would like to do is install a bathtub in this location and leave the cast iron in place. The drain looks like it will match up dead center with the tub (pure luck?). I want to install a gasket to go from ci to pvc but that is where I am stuck. Most tub drains to my knowledge go to the end of the tub where they meet the overflow pipe and then go to a p-trap - can I flip this around so that the overflow goes to the drain tail and run that straight down into a gasket in the ci hub?

If removing the cast iron is the best approach what is the best method- pulling them apart (twisting with pipe wrenches) or breaking it with mini sledges

Here are a few pics so y'all can see what I am dealing with.

Thanks in advance for any info or advice you may have.

p-trap overview.jpgp-trap side view.jpg

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score