Big problem in new shower.......

Users who are viewing this thread

happy123456

Reaction score
Try to make a long story short as I'm looking for information. Contractor installed a tile shower, walked off job before sealing and grouting. New contractor comes in and asked was it water tested? Well I say no I dont believe so. He says I need to test it before I can tell you what it will cost to finish it as I wont put my name on someone elses work if its bad. OK understandable right? He plugs/corks drain does standard water test....water leaks into my garage ceiling. Now old contrator says its leaking because the drain wasnt glue or sealed? Now I'm no expert but wouldnt you do the pipe work before you laid the floor on top? He says that because the grout wasnt sealed that is why water leaked down a story. Old contractor says I now am the one that breached contract because I had someone else do the water test. Is any of this true or is the old contractor just trying to turn the tables on me? Bottom line, I'm out a few thousand $$ and have been out of my shower for weeks! Any help would be appreciated!
Hap

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
Shower should hold water before any tile work is done. Perhaps there is an unfinished drain connection below the shower; is it accessable through the ceiling below?

Justadrip

Reaction score
Hi Dee,
What more info are looking for? You are not going to get any different answers to your shower question here than you did at www.johnbridge.com.
That thread is 5 pages long.
http://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=111367

This is a great site for plumbing questions,not so great for tile and stone questions. Your shower was built incorrectly and needs to be redone. The leak test is a mute point.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score