Outbuilding/shop heater questions/opinions

Users who are viewing this thread

ironspider

Reaction score
Greetings all, we have an outbuilding (25'x35'x12') with concrete floors that we have all our woodworking equipment in. We're not professionals or anything but we'd love to be able to work in there during the winter months building some furniture and running our CNC machine. The building is insulated with that spray foam stuff on all the walls and ceiling (I'm no expert on insulation but it seems pretty good. I was in there yesterday checking on something and it was -14 degrees outside [SE Michigan] the outbuilding and 22 degrees inside the barn).

The outbuilding has a natural gas line and one of those 30,000BTU gas wall heaters mounted on the entry wall by the large sliding doors. The heater works but doesn't really seem to heat the entire space and, even if it does get a bit warmer, it takes a long time. There is also plenty of available electrical as the previous homeowner was like a "pro" craftsman :).

So I've been reading on various forums about the options for heating this space and I love this forum so I thought I'd ask for any opinions people might have on my options. Seems like a lot of people have recommended something like the Modine Hot Dawg system. There are a bunch of those heaters available on craigslist and it looks like they often go on sale, new, at places like costco or Lowes/HD but none of them are the "separated-combustion" type that most people seem to recommend. So I guess that leaves me wanting opinions about:
1). What "type" of system do you recommend for our application (we want to heat the space so that the power tools are warm as well as the people [I don't know if Inrared means it just heats living tissue like a microwave and leaves metal objects freezing to the touch? :) ])