Users who are viewing this thread

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
How long do disposers last?

Eight years is about right. After that, the blades are pretty dull and they quit dicing up the food into small enough bits.

disposer_broken_top.jpg

I was called out because they had water when they used the sink. There was a hole about the size of a quarter near the top, but when I tried to remove it from the collar, the entire disposer dropped off in my hands!

disposer_new.jpg

A new disposer. Looks nicer!

Seattle area replacements

Last edited:

WJcandee

Wise One
Reaction score
Yikes!

Assuming that that new one is a brand you would recommend, which one is it? Good to know for future reference...

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Most plumbers like Insinkerator. You can get accessories for them at most any hardware store, like new collars.

Being a plumber, I pick up the Pro versions, but hardware variety are good too.
http://terrylove.biz/8_insinkerator

The disposer above, being an older picture is a Badger 5 by Insinkerator. That's my basic contractor grade replacement.
If someone has a little more to spend, then something in the Evolution series or Pro series.
More warranty, quieter, and longer lasting cutting blades.

Pro750
3/4 HP
6-Year warranty
Auto-Reverse

Seattle area installations

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score