(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Aquastat settings

Default Aquastat settings

I have a series 2 B, Burnham Boiler. My water pressure gauge shows 15 psa. My water temp. will not go above
    140F. The dial on the Honeywell aquastat attached to the boiler is at 230 @ the 12 oclock indicator.
    Should I move that higher to attain an uper limit of 175 or so?

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

The boiler may only go higher if there is a call for heat...the thermostat may not be asking for heat, or the controller is not recognizing it. 230-degrees is likely way too high - to operate there, the system pressure would likely need to be higher to be on the safe side...if there were ever a leak, 230-degree water flashing to steam will ruin your day if you're still around and alive to see it.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Not to thread jack but I'm curious, what makes their boiler stay below 140 unless there is demand? That seems like a smart, energy saving idea. Is it possible to make our boiler do this?

We have a natural gas Hydrotherm R250C with a Honeywell L8148E controller.

Quote Originally Posted by Soapm View Post
    Not to thread jack but I'm curious, what makes their boiler stay below 140 unless there is demand? That seems like a smart, energy saving idea. Is it possible to make our boiler do this?

We have a natural gas Hydrotherm R250C with a Honeywell L8148E controller.

I am no pro on the subject.

I do know that it is not good too go tweaking on the controller, unless you have the proper instruments and know how.

Once you jack around with the control, It can be hard getting it back to factory recommended settings.

Have Fun.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net