(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How long is too long before regeneration?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member nafterclifen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    10

    Default How long is too long before regeneration?

    I am treating 6gpg of hardness and 1ppm of iron well water with a Marlo CMP-25 combo filter/softener.

    If I configure the unit to regenerate on demand, it would take approx 18 days to consume 2700 gallons @ current household usage (150 gallons per day) to reach the 30,000 grain capacity. That is with the unit configured for 11gpg of hardness (6gpg in water and 5gpg to treat iron). My fear is that 18 days is too long for all of the minerals to be attached to the resin and as a result, I will have to replace the resin prematurely. Although waiting 18 days to regenerate will maximize salt usage, I fear it poses a threat to the performance and longevity of the resin.

    Alternatively, if the unit is set to regenerate every 10 days (this is the current setting) then I am not utilizing the full 30,000 grain capacity of the unit. I am also increasing my water and salt usage and waste to my septic.

    So how long is too long before regenerating and how should I configure my unit?

  2. #2
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    It sounds as if you have a 1.0 cuft softener since you mention 30,000. To get 30K out of a 1.0 cuft, you need to use 15 lbs of salt each regeneration. That gets you very poor salt efficiency of 2000 grains/lb. If you use less you don't get 30k. Click the Click Here link in my signature for more on that.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member nafterclifen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
    It sounds as if you have a 1.0 cuft softener since you mention 30,000. To get 30K out of a 1.0 cuft, you need to use 15 lbs of salt each regeneration. That gets you very poor salt efficiency of 2000 grains/lb. If you use less you don't get 30k. Click the Click Here link in my signature for more on that.
    Unfortunately, I am not able to adjust the salt dosage per regeneration - can I? If I could, I would set it to use 4lbs and regenerate every 10 days as per your chart.

    By the way, I noticed that your sizing calculator accounts for 4gpg to treat 1ppm iron but I am treating 1ppm iron with 5gpg hardness. So the numbers are close...

  4. #4
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    All softeners allow setting the salt dose somehow but being you have a Marlo and I don/t know what brand valve is on it, I can't tell you how. Post a picture of the face of the control valve.

    I have treated a lot of iron with softeners and 4 grains per mg/l or ppm works fine as long as the water is always crystal clear when drawn.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member nafterclifen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
    All softeners allow setting the salt dose somehow but being you have a Marlo and I don/t know what brand valve is on it, I can't tell you how. Post a picture of the face of the control valve.

    I have treated a lot of iron with softeners and 4 grains per mg/l or ppm works fine as long as the water is always crystal clear when drawn.
    It's a clack valve.

    Name:  cmp.jpg
Views: 108
Size:  62.0 KB

  6. #6
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    Push the Next and Down Arrow buttons both at the same time (it takes two hands usually) and let go. I can't remember what you will see but you are looking for the lbs of salt. If you don't see the lbs, push the Next button to go to the next field and repeat as needed. When you get to the last programming screen and push Next, it will take you back to the Service screen. Of course you won't know which screen is the last, so... to get out of the programming, push the Next button until you get back to what was on the screen before you push the Next and Down Arrow. You also set the capacity in those screens. To change values you use the UP or DOWN arrow buttons but.... you need to know what size softener you have before you change anything.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member nafterclifen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary Slusser View Post
    Push the Next and Down Arrow buttons both at the same time (it takes two hands usually) and let go. I can't remember what you will see but you are looking for the lbs of salt. If you don't see the lbs, push the Next button to go to the next field and repeat as needed. When you get to the last programming screen and push Next, it will take you back to the Service screen. Of course you won't know which screen is the last, so... to get out of the programming, push the Next button until you get back to what was on the screen before you push the Next and Down Arrow. You also set the capacity in those screens. To change values you use the UP or DOWN arrow buttons but.... you need to know what size softener you have before you change anything.
    Next and Down arrow combination worked, thanks Gary!

Similar Threads

  1. Long, long line from meter to home...advice please
    By syspig in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-24-2013, 03:50 PM
  2. how long for cat 5 cable?
    By ballvalve in forum Bob & Don's Electronics Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 12:09 PM
  3. How Long Will One Last?
    By tvl in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 07:22 AM
  4. what takes it so long
    By DIY in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 04:30 PM
  5. Can we do this? (sorry it's long)
    By Grandma Lewis in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 07:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •