Prestige Solo 110 Pressure & Condensation

Users who are viewing this thread

JT42

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to this forum, but I can't seem to get an answer from the Prestige folks. I have a Prestige Solo 110 Water Boiler which is a little over 5 years old. The pressure went high (+30#) last year and the outfit that installed the boiler replaced the expansion tank. That never really resolved the problem.
1. The pressure gauge reads 30#. Is that really too high?
2. The condensate drain has a constant drip. Is this normal? I have cleaned it per the maintenance instructions.
3. I've read where condensate is acidic. Mine drips to the ground and I have a slab foundation. Is that OK?

Thanks for your help.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
30 psi is on the high side. If you have an "auto-filler" valve, that's what usually sets the system pressure- it's adjustable, but they can leak at the valve seat (a bit o' grit or pitting will do it), which would slowly raise the system pressure to whatever your incoming water pressure is. The solution is to close the isolating valve (usually a ball-valve or gate valve between the auto-fill and your potable water distribution plumbing) and drain the system until it hits the pressure you want. Most homes are good to go at 12psi, low mass boilers like yours are often happier at 15 psi. If the system has an indirect-fired hot water heater on it, a leak in the heat exchanger could have the same pressurizing consequences to the system.

The boiler is probably rated for 50psi, but if the expansion tank was pre-charged to 12-15psi running the system at 30psi isn't so great- the expansion tank will be beyond where it has much room for system water expansion as the temperature of the system rises.

Replacing the expansion tank is not a remedy for a system that's running at high pressure. If that's why the contractor swapped it out, (could it have been for other reasons?) their competence is pretty questionable.