(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Kinetico 30 Plus won't draw/replenish from/to brine tank

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member wm_son's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    6

    Post Kinetico 30 Plus won't draw/replenish from/to brine tank

    Greetings from Indy all,

    Brief history, unit was brand new Jan. '03 (11.75 yrs. old) in a brand new condo in area with high chlorine and high water pressure coming from public water (according to Kinetico tech). At about the 11 yr mark (1/1/13) unit slowly quit using salt, until late spring when no salt has been used and consequently no soft water. Unit was also not self-regenerating. Kinetico tech (Ktech) serviced the machine last week (9/18) and said the valve needed replaced/rebuilt for $1,000. He could not get the unit to self-regenerate or draw and replenish from/to the brine tank. He changed disk from 6 to 7 and said there was no hope but to cough up some serious coinage.

    Enter wm_son. I was able to access a youtube video about head disassembly, so I disassemble and reassembled and was able to get the unit to self-regenerate AND pull and replenish the brine tank. Only once though did it do the full brine tank cycle. It continues to self-regenerate but no brine tank activity occurs. Did the valve has just one more life to give after I reassembled or is there still hope? Is there ever malfunction of the brine line or brine float that would prevent the brine cycle from occurring? Is there a way to test? Any assistance is much appreciated, thank you.

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    664

    Default

    Kinetico's can be very easy to work on once you understand how they work. I have an exploded view of the parts as well as a manual. If you would like a copy (it will help), send me an email and I'll send it to you.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member wm_son's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quick shout-out to mialynette for getting me info; it's still regenning and brine is working now for 2 days; no soft water yet after 7 cycles (3 on main, 4 on remote). I'm thinking resin needs replaced. I will test it like you said. Get me a hb hatch test kit also. Tanks, ha, for all the info and advice.

Similar Threads

  1. Kinetico Model 60 won't draw
    By GaryG in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 08:30 AM
  2. Rayne RXD 1500-D System will not draw brine water
    By rfussell in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2012, 02:28 PM
  3. Kenmore no brine draw
    By Cruisinfanatic in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 03-30-2012, 09:17 PM
  4. General Ionics IQ0820B won't draw brine
    By bmaker in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 10:30 AM
  5. What Causes the Brine Draw to be Very Slow in Water Softener?
    By Biddle in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 09:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •