(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Lowering 3/4 hp submersible pump down 100ft

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member nc73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Aylett, Va
    Posts
    11

    Default Lowering 3/4 hp submersible pump down 100ft

    I have a 371ft deep well. Pump is at 187ft. I'd like to move it down 100ft more to 287ft. I have no idea what the specs is on the pump except that it's 230v and 3/4 hp. I'm getting 6.5 gpm measuring with a garden hose. If I move it down that far would I need to upgrade the pump to a 1hp? It's not VFD btw. 2 wire. I'm doing this in order to install a geothermal closed loop. I can't fit the pipe down as-is.

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    You're planning to put the loop into the well along with the pump?

  3. #3
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nc73 View Post
    If I move it down that far would I need to upgrade the pump to a 1hp?
    The pump only sees the depth to the top of the water. It won't know it is set deeper unless you draw the well down further.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member nc73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Aylett, Va
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigpump View Post
    You're planning to put the loop into the well along with the pump?
    yes. It'll be a tight fit for sure.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member nc73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Aylett, Va
    Posts
    11

    Default

    If the pump is set deeper to make room for the geo loop, it will be further from the top of the water. Water is currently at 46ft.
    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    The pump only sees the depth to the top of the water. It won't know it is set deeper unless you draw the well down further.

  6. #6
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nc73 View Post
    If the pump is set deeper to make room for the geo loop, it will be further from the top of the water. Water is currently at 46ft.
    What's your point? It will still only lift 46 feet.

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member nc73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Aylett, Va
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    What's your point? It will still only lift 46 feet.
    So you're saying even though the pump is deeper, the pumping energy required will still be the same therefore I don't have to upgrade the pump? I didn't know it only had to lift the water 46ft. i feel stupid.

  8. #8
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    There was a guy here in Ct back in the 80's who tried to do geothermal the way your proposing to do yours, the results were less than satisfactory.

    1 there really isn't enough room in a six inch well for the loops, the drop pipe, pump and the 3 pitless adapters
    2 when the pump had to be serviced, the loops had to be pulled up out of the pitless to get the pump out, which meant the geo system had to be serviced to get the air out of the system
    3 closed loop geo systems lose their efficiency when they are not completely submerged in water or grouted in. In your case you have at least 46 of loop to air contact.

    I am NOT a geo expert by any means, just reporting what my personal experience is.
    Last edited by craigpump; 09-23-2013 at 03:03 AM.

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member nc73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Aylett, Va
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I agree with 1&2, even worse the well is 4.5". I'm not expecting it to handle 3 ton, the most will be 1 ton, the other two I will makeup with other methods. It'll save me time and money if I don't have to dig another well. It may end up being a hybrid, with horizontal and vertical loops.

    Quote Originally Posted by craigpump View Post
    There was a guy here in Ct back in the 80's who tried to do geothermal the way your proposing to do yours, the results were less than satisfactory.

    1 there really isn't enough room in a six inch well for the loops, the drop pipe, pump and the 3 pitless adapters
    2 when the pump had to be serviced, the loops had to be pulled up out of the pitless to get the pump out, which meant the geo system had to be serviced to get the air out of the system
    3 closed loop geo systems lose their efficiency when they are not completely submerged in water or grouted in. In your case you have at least 46 of loop to air contact.

    I am NOT a geo expert by any means, just reporting what my personal experience is.

  10. #10
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    I'm not very well versed on geo, but what is your water quality like? Would an open loop, returning the water to the well be an option?

  11. #11
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    You could use a heat exchanger at the bottom of the Geo loop. It would transfer heat much better than a plastic pipe loop. You could make one out of copper pipe easy enough. Either way, with the heat exchanger or an open loop setup, you will need to bleed enough water from the well to make it work. When you are using water from the well, it is bleeding plenty to transfer the heat/cool. When not using water you could hook up a bleed valve controlled by temperature coming from the loop pipe.

  12. #12
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nc73 View Post
    So you're saying even though the pump is deeper, the pumping energy required will still be the same therefore I don't have to upgrade the pump? I didn't know it only had to lift the water 46ft. i feel stupid.

    Do not feel bad, 1 atmosphere is on your side.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  13. #13
    DIY Senior Member VAWellDriller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    161

    Default

    I'm local to you and know the area.....if your well driller did his job remotely right, there should be almost no draw down in your well when pumping, so if that's the case, most of the loop will be in a stagnant section of water and you'll have terrible heat transfer...not to mention the problems with the pitless adapter connection and pump in your 4.5" well. You should confirm that he did a good job and put in a larger pump and run an open loop system. Water quality is good and open loop is more efficient anyway.

  14. #14
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    VAWelldriller

    Everyone I know up here installs a Porter Shroud when they do an open loop so that the water has time to exchange heat for cold and vise versa.

    How would you do that in a 4.5" well?

    I think the best option is to drill a well dedicated for geo.

  15. #15
    DIY Senior Member VAWellDriller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigpump View Post
    VAWelldriller

    Everyone I know up here installs a Porter Shroud when they do an open loop so that the water has time to exchange heat for cold and vise versa.

    How would you do that in a 4.5" well?

    I think the best option is to drill a well dedicated for geo.
    I'm not familiar with a "Porter Shroud". but I get the idea....he's in an area with a screened mud rotary well, so screen is at bottom, and like I said earlier, if it's properly done, there will be probably less that a 1ft of drawdown per gpm pumped....(specific capacity of >1). That being said, any water above the pump, usually just sits there and never moves... It's not really an issue, since there just isn't room for any type of shroud or even the loop for that matter with his installed pump.

    Most geo around here is done with closed vertical loops....I'm a big fan of open loop, since we have good water and lots of it. If you don't want to waster the water, drill a return well...it will still pay in the long run. You save on the geo system without having the manifold work and circulator pump to buy, and it's more efficient.

Similar Threads

  1. Lowering a Kitchen Sink Drain Line
    By morpheusmurals in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-2012, 08:30 PM
  2. pump saver submersible pump switch
    By latillasteve in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-15-2012, 10:59 AM
  3. Lowering thermostat , how much and closing vents
    By lyban in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 01:05 PM
  4. Lowering Your Rates
    By Cass in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 04:19 PM
  5. Lowering Well Casing
    By HELLOWITSMEAGAIN in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2008, 10:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •