(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Kinetico Quad 51 questions

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member noxid8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    5

    Default Kinetico Quad 51 questions

    I just got a Kinetico Quad 51 and I have a few questions:

    1) Is it possible to place the fine mesh resin in all 4 units instead of using any carbon?
    2) Would that give me a larger reserve of soft water or does it not work that way?
    3) The unit is 7 years old, should I replace the gaskets since I have the head broken down?
    4) Do I need to add new grease to all the gaskets and what kind would I use?
    5) Can I use my existing generic brine tank or does the Kinetico require their own?


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Default

    Interesting, never thought to that. Are you keeping it on city water? What water test results do you have? Iron?
    Since this is an upflow unit, a pre-filter is required and must be maintained.
    There should no-to-very-little iron in the water.
    Yes, you could put resin in all tanks. Double the salt dosage (1--2lbs.) and a double the total hardness disc setting. Monitor hard by testing water and an adjustment may be needed.
    The gaskets should not be replaced. Use only silicon grease and never petroleum oils like Vasoline.
    Brine tanks need to be set for metered not timered electronic settings so you would need a Kinetico brine tank and float setting for 2lbs.
    Put on the right conditions and settings, I see no reason why it shouldn't work.
    It was an INSIDE JOB!!!!

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member noxid8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the help. It is city water so I will have a separate carbon filter before the kinetico. I'm not sure on the iron but the hardens averages 14 grains. The disk is a #3, is that good or do I need a different disk? It's a house of two adults and 4 kids 8-15 years old.

  4. #4

    Default

    Actually, Keeping it as designed would be your best choice with a sediment pre-filter ahead of it. Otherwise, you would need to go to a disc #2.
    It was an INSIDE JOB!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Frozen Kinetico, options/questions on "proper" install
    By dyeager535 in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 10:36 AM
  2. Used Kinetico
    By Mike3951 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 02:33 PM
  3. Kinetico 60
    By Billyg57 in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 03:16 PM
  4. Kinetico
    By Peter Griffin in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 01:43 PM
  5. kinetico 30 need help
    By mark andy in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2009, 07:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •