(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: GE water heater controller voltage

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member KeithR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    5

    Default GE water heater controller voltage

    I have a 40 gal GE "Profile" "Smart" water heater, about 5 to 7 years old.
    Trying to trouble shoot shortage of HW,and discover voltage to the top element is 240v, but the bottom element is only getting 120V.
    Do I need to replace the top controller which feeds to the bottom one or is it meant to do this?

  2. #2
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithR View Post
    I have a 40 gal GE "Profile" "Smart" water heater, about 5 to 7 years old.
    Trying to trouble shoot shortage of HW,and discover voltage to the top element is 240v, but the bottom element is only getting 120V.
    Do I need to replace the top controller which feeds to the bottom one or is it meant to do this?

    What is your Model Number ?


    Good Luck.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member KeithR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Its a PE40T9CB00
    Actually closer to 10 years old.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member KeithR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I think I need to study it a bit closer before jumping to conclusions. My first observation was with wires disconnected from both elements. I drained and re-fillled the tank.
    Now with the top element connected, there is zero voltage at the bottom element. Does the controller cycle back and forth so only one element is on at a time?

  5. #5
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithR View Post
    I think I need to study it a bit closer before jumping to conclusions. My first observation was with wires disconnected from both elements. I drained and re-fillled the tank.
    Now with the top element connected, there is zero voltage at the bottom element. Does the controller cycle back and forth so only one element is on at a time?

    Normally, Yes it does work that way.


    Did you have power off when you drained it ?
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member KeithR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    5

    Default

    OH yes!
    I just checked resistance. Top is 20K ohms & bottom is 7K ohms. (They are supposed to be the same!)
    Both are infinity to ground.

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member KeithR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    5

    Default

    So two new elements and we have hot again! Thanks for comments Rocket Scientist

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithR View Post
    So two new elements and we have hot again! Thanks for comments Rocket Scientist

    Good Deal.


    Enjoy.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  9. #9
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,615

    Default

    An element will ONLY register 120 v. when it is burned out. It also does not heat when that happens so only the upper element operates to heat the water at the top of the tank, giving you a short supply.
    Licensed residential and commercial plumber

  10. #10
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hj View Post
    An element will ONLY register 120 v. when it is burned out. It also does not heat when that happens so only the upper element operates to heat the water at the top of the tank, giving you a short supply.

    Sounds like both elements were Open. If the posted readings are correct.

    That is a bit strange, unless power was applied with no water in the tank. Or one element has been bad for awhile.
    Last edited by DonL; 09-16-2013 at 07:34 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  11. #11
    DIY Junior Member kahnman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi Keith. I am having the same problem with my exact same model water heater. I did a search of the model on the GE support and parts site and no results. Do you still have the element part numbers and where you ordered them from? Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Flickering lights on circuit with low voltage and line voltage bulbs
    By davidwie in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-18-2011, 07:34 AM
  2. Wall Socket With Voltage AND No Voltage? HELP!
    By jackvogel in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 07:41 AM
  3. Reseting my Franklin Controller often, water shutting off
    By mrmike in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 08:13 AM
  4. CP Water Controller
    By haysie in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 07:28 AM
  5. Running low voltage in high voltage boxes
    By Ian Gills in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 07:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •