(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Vandalized well on fixer upper.

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Billyfixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    15

    Default Vandalized well on fixer upper.

    Hi everyone. Glad to be here.

    My g/f and myself just bought a house out in the country in central florida. We got a good deal on it but it has issues and needs many repairs. Nobody has been in the house since 07. The well is one issue I need to address right away and I'm hoping some of you can help. It would be appreciated. Seems someone stole the pressure switch and the cover has been left off the red jacket control box since 07. Pressure tank looks OK but the pvc will need replaced as someone kicked the tank over. the first problem I'm running into is I have no idea what size submersible the pump is. The control box seems to be the CRC type because it has two capacitors but I can't get any numbers off of it because I can't find any and everything is rusty. I found the cover but no part number or anything on it. It just says red jacket. Its a 3 wire submersible but thats all I can tell. I haven't ohmed anything out yet to see if its good but I assume the control box will need replaced at least because of the rust. Any ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    Looks like a 1.5HP box to me. If you can get the MFD number off the black round capacitor we could confirm that.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Billyfixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by valveman View Post
    Looks like a 1.5HP box to me. If you can get the MFD number off the black round capacitor we could confirm that.
    I'll get it, thanks. Do you know what type of pressure switch I'ld need for a CRC control box or is there even a difference?

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    The FSG2 pressure switch works for pumps up to 2HP.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member Billyfixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I couldn't get a single number off the black cap. Theres just nothing on it. Heres a pic. Its roughly 3 1/2" high X 1 1/4" wide if that helps.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  6. #6
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    I still think it is a 1.5 HP. I guess you could put a new 1.5 HP box on there and try it. Then it would run so you could check the amp draw to make sure what size of pump it is.

  7. #7
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,662

    Default

    You may be able to get a clue off of the relay.

    Most will have the HP rating on them.

    And the motor should be equal to or less than that rating.


    Good Luck.
    Last edited by DonL; 09-12-2013 at 10:30 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  8. #8
    Sprinkler Guy Wet_Boots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Metro NYC
    Posts
    798

    Default

    Is there a range of capacitor values and motor winding resistances that can pin down the motor rating?

  9. #9

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member Billyfixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by valveman View Post
    So do I check the black and then red motor wires to the yellow wire for ohms?

  11. #11
    DIY Junior Member Billyfixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    You may be able to get a clue off of the relay.

    Most will have the HP rating on them.

    And the motor should be equal to or less than that rating.


    Good Luck.
    I'm going up this weekend so I'll check.

    Thanks..

  12. #12
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Billyfixit View Post
    So do I check the black and then red motor wires to the yellow wire for ohms?
    So what were those readings?

  13. #13
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,662

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by valveman View Post
    So what were those readings?

    I think he was wanting the color code for the Motor Windings. Should be able to figure that out by the readings he gets between each wire. Wire color may vary ?

    He may be able to take the caps and have them tested for value, Auto parts place or Radio Shack have cap testers. It still looks good.

    Well not all that good, but the pressure release looks intact.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  14. #14
    DIY Junior Member Billyfixit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Heres the relay.. 35 amp. I didn't get a chance to ohm the pump yet as my meter wasn't working properly. Is it best to use an analog or digital meter to measure the motor. If the pump hasn't been started in 6 yerars do you think it still has a chance to run once I get the control stuff figured out?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  15. #15
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    You are going to need the ohm readings, or amp draw. They use that same relay from 1/2 to 3 HP. Digital or analog will get you those ohm readings. I have started pumps that have been sitting unused in a well for 20 years. It is really a good place to store a submersible. Constant temperature, below the oxygen, and can't dry out.

Similar Threads

  1. Vandalized & Beaten AC Compressor - Has anyone seen this before?
    By lukekb in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-13-2009, 11:42 AM
  2. WH on apt. bldg upper floor
    By philbob57 in forum Water Heater Forum, Tanks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 04:54 PM
  3. Rough piping a new upper bath
    By mar-todd in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 10:41 AM
  4. Help with Upper water heater element.
    By tlong_66 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2008, 08:56 PM
  5. Upper Thermostat wiring
    By erikthewarm in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2005, 07:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •