(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Thread: Wires from Main panael to Subpanel in two separate raceways?

  1. #16
    DIY Member electrotuko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Wet_Boots, thanks, now I got it. Will use bare copper. Always need to think out of box, I keep forgetting.......

  2. #17
    DIY Member electrotuko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    46

    Default

    One thing still worries my is that my calculated long term load is approx. 150A, not including short time loads for 1-5 min., such microwave, weel pump, toaster, garage door opener and etc.. The wires through the air are 4 AWG (only between last pole and top of meter riser pipe), riser pipe 1 1/2 inch, wires in it 1 gauge. Everything points out to 150A service capabalities. If I would turn everytning ON simlutaneosly in my house, the load will go up to 200A. I just may relay on the wires being in the air having good ventilation and will not get extrimely hot. I hink this is what power utility guy meant saying no worry you will be fine up to 200A main service panel and 200A braeker in it.

  3. #18
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by electrotuko View Post
    One thing still worries my is that my calculated long term load is approx. 150A, not including short time loads for 1-5 min., such microwave, weel pump, toaster, garage door opener and etc.. The wires through the air are 4 AWG (only between last pole and top of meter riser pipe), riser pipe 1 1/2 inch, wires in it 1 gauge. Everything points out to 150A service capabalities. If I would turn everytning ON simlutaneosly in my house, the load will go up to 200A. I just may relay on the wires being in the air having good ventilation and will not get extrimely hot. I hink this is what power utility guy meant saying no worry you will be fine up to 200A main service panel and 200A braeker in it.

    The Length of the wire will determine Voltage drop, and that is what is important.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  4. #19
    DIY Member electrotuko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    46

    Default

    is the volatge drop on theat smallest wire distance (pole to meter) is most improtant, or the wwhole voltage drop on all transmition line and only final voltage as lowest line at the meter is most improtant?

  5. #20
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
    the conduit fill calculator I've been using flunks 4 #4 THHN wires in one-inch FMC, but just barely, to the point that a bare #4 ground wire used instead of THHN would put you to the good by more than four percent of total fill
    WHY in the world would you use a #4 ground for a 100A feeder???

  6. #21
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by electrotuko View Post
    is the volatge drop on theat smallest wire distance (pole to meter) is most improtant, or the wwhole voltage drop on all transmition line and only final voltage as lowest line at the meter is most improtant?
    The wire from the pole to the meter is completely irrelevant. The POCO owns and maintains it, so changing it or upgrading is it rarely an option.
    I have seen 400A services on #2AL triplex.

  7. #22
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wet_Boots View Post
    the conduit fill calculator I've been using flunks 4 #4 THHN wires in one-inch FMC,
    You are correct about the THHN conductors. I suppose I let my contracting side come out as I always use THW conductors for this type of installation. If the conductors are dual rated THHN/THWN then they need a 1 1/4 pipe.

    He could use the proper #10 EGC and use the 1 inch pipe as long as it was THHN conductors

  8. #23
    Sprinkler Guy Wet_Boots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Metro NYC
    Posts
    798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
    WHY in the world would you use a #4 ground for a 100A feeder???
    because the OP wants to put 4 #4 wires in 1-inch FMC to feed a 80A sub-panel?

  9. #24
    Electrician Chris B.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by electrotuko View Post
    Thanks for all your advises.
    Re garding "enough room for a 1" conduit, but enough for two 3/4" ones? Does not sound logical".
    Very simple, subpanel mounted next to main panel, to make a metal conduit from one space between 2x4 studs to another requires either felixible metal conduit or several offset pieces. 1" flex metal is very expensive, sold only in 50' size. I already have 3/4" a piece. If use rigid matal an several offesets - this will not make nice compact, close to wall implemenattion. This what I thought. I could be wring ofcourse.
    If you took a picture, somebody could provide you with a specific suggestion to solve your problem. If in fact you need to run 1", which you probably don't, a conduit fitting or combination of fittings would probably solve the problem.

  10. #25
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by electrotuko View Post
    Very simple, tha panel is in the basement, on the wall, where right below the panel (9" space) is a concrete wall down to the floor. It is not enough space, vertically between the concrete wall and bottom of a panel, to convinienly install 30 or 40 space main panel. It is 36"+ high, just too long/tall. The 150A or 200A main panel with 20 spaces, 30" tall metal case/frame fits perfectly. And just next to I will fit 12 space subpanel.
    If you could send a picture that would help me help you.

  11. #26
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    here is a picture of my sister, does that help?

  12. #27
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    here is one of me checking for voltage


    and another of me raising chickens, good watch dog


    And one more of me and the wife on our first date in our new car

  13. #28
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    I got my eye on you


  14. #29
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwelectric View Post
    here is a picture of my sister, does that help?

    Did she have a problem getting dates ?

    Looks like she may give you a kiss on her first date.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  15. #30
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    [QUOTE=jwelectric;388821]here is one of me checking for voltage


    And that is why I am happy to stick to residential and light commercial...

    You can get killed, sure. But still...

Similar Threads

  1. How to separate PVC pipes
    By mntentman in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 06:21 AM
  2. Main Service Panels separate neutrals but multiple grounds in bus bar
    By Mr_Magoo in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-21-2008, 02:16 PM
  3. Can I separate aan ABS fitting?
    By pjb in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 04:48 AM
  4. Distance from main panel to subpanel (plus)
    By mchiarit in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2007, 04:00 PM
  5. Juncture of tub and separate shower
    By Access for All in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-22-2007, 07:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •