(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Want to add to existing Zones

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member kurtze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    West Michigan
    Posts
    4

    Default Want to add to existing Zones

    I have a 80,000 sq lawn with with existing zones. It has been there for a while and I bought the house 5 years ago. I notice the head locations in the zones do not cover the lawn as I get brown spots during extended dry and hot times. Additionally there are some areas (separate areas of the lawn, that don't have any coverage. It is crazy and driving me nuts because I pay for TruGreen to fertilize and control weeds in the lawn.

    So I don't know what size the poly is running from head to head, nor do I even know where the pipes are.

    I wanted to add two sprinklers 25 foot Orbit Sprinklers model 55069 to a couple of zones. Anyone see a problem with that?

  2. #2
    DIY Member teamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Whether you can add more heads to a zone depends on the available gallons per minute and pressure for that zone. Do a gallons per minute and pressure calculation for your house and determine what you have to work with. What type of heads do you have on the system now? I don't care much for Orbit heads and only use Hunter or Rainbird, but that is a matter of personal preference.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member dj2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    315

    Default

    To add to the answer above:

    It also depends on how many heads you have on the circuit you want to add sprinklers to and your sprinkler system water pressure.
    We usually put 10-12 regular 1/2 circle heads per line with water pressure above 50. Half that number for impulse sprinklers (similar to the one you want to install).

Similar Threads

  1. Combining Zones
    By Duke76 in forum Irrigation / Sprinkler Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2011, 08:30 AM
  2. Adding Zones to Existing Single Run Boiler System
    By imnomotor in forum Boiler Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 11:56 AM
  3. not enough pressure in all zones
    By buikemakathy@yahoo.com in forum Irrigation / Sprinkler Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 10:45 AM
  4. All zones turn on
    By tbris in forum Irrigation / Sprinkler Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 02:59 PM
  5. prioritizing zones
    By correlts in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-09-2007, 04:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •