(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fleck 7000 mysteriously changes capacity setting

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member lifespeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    319

    Default Fleck 7000 mysteriously changes capacity setting

    I have a 1 year old Fleck 7000 valve on a 1.5 cu ft 10" X 54" tank that mysteriously changes the capacity setting on its own. It always changes to 35 x1000. This may happen after a power outage, but I am not sure. The other settings remain valid.

    Obviously this will mess with the continuous availability of soft water, as experience with this unit, Hach 5B test kit at the end of a run, and the cheap Carbochem IonPlus™ CA-10 lead me to believe the actual capacity is about 30K grains when regenerated at 8 lbs/ft. When the salt tank ran out I measured the water in the brine tank after refill. It was indeed the 4 gallons programmed by the 0.25 GPM BLFC button.

    Any idea why the capacity changes on it's own? Firmware bug? I am finding this quite annoying as it interferes with the whole low-maintenance goal of the system. Programming below. I just performed a Master Reset and reprogrammed. But I did this once before and today I found the capacity at 35K again.

    Edit: I have software version 2.4

    DF Gal
    VT df2b
    CT fd
    C 30,000
    H 18
    RS rc
    rc 180
    DO 28
    RT 2:45
    B1 10
    BD 60
    B2 6
    RR 6
    BF 17 (4 gal, 12 lbs, 8 lbs/ft)
    FM t1.2
    Last edited by lifespeed; 07-10-2013 at 09:04 PM.
    Lifespeed

  2. #2
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Never heard of that happening, but send me a PM, I can get you a new board for no charge.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member lifespeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    319

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ditttohead View Post
    Never heard of that happening, but send me a PM, I can get you a new board for no charge.
    Thanks, PM sent. Any idea if I have an early version of the board/firmware? Sometimes those can be . . . less refined.
    Lifespeed

  4. #4
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The SXT version has been out for many years. It may be a problem related to the super capacitor or who knows what. Fleck is awesome at warranty compared to other companies. I sent you a PM

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member lifespeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    319

    Default

    Here is an interesting article outlining what Solid State Disk manufacturers think of the new supercapacitors vs. good old tantalum capacitors. If you need a large enough capacitor to run a remote control airplane for a few minutes, well, nothing but a supercapacitor will do it. As to the 7000SXT, maybe hours of memory hold-up are too much for a tantalum also.
    Lifespeed

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member lifespeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    319

    Default Fixed?

    Installed and programmed the new circuit board. After it went through calibration I left it running for about 45 minutes, then disconnected AC power for 14 hours. All settings, including capacity, remained unchanged. I think it will take a number of months and power outages before I can be sure it is fixed.
    Lifespeed

  7. #7
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Good information on the capacitor. A little trick we have learned on some of the capacitor power backup boards regardless of manufacturer, If you are having an unexplained quirk in the programming or cant get a complete hard reset, years ago we found out that we could leave the power off for a few days and the boards are like new, but an even quicker way is to power the boards down, and jump the capacitor to discharge it instantly. This has been a great solution for certain PLC, circuit boards, etc. when you are in the field and dont want to wait a week or two for a new controller.

Similar Threads

  1. At wits end with new Fleck 7000 stx!
    By Adamk in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-22-2013, 11:11 AM
  2. New fleck 7000 sxt questions
    By Steve424 in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-04-2012, 01:31 PM
  3. Fleck 7000 questions
    By cgarai in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-16-2012, 12:47 AM
  4. Help Programming a Fleck 7000 SXT
    By batboy in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 06:43 PM
  5. fleck 7000 or clack ?? help
    By gerrythegreat in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-24-2006, 08:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •