(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Collapsed casing? Any solutions?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member MarkMCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    9

    Default Collapsed casing? Any solutions?

    4" pvc cased well.
    200' deep
    static water level 60'
    well is approximately 30 years old.

    Old pump went out and was unable to be pulled, pvc broke at pump. Pump is at the bottom of the well.

    New pump will not go past 100'.

    Well is really unusable due to decreased available water. We have gotten a camera and a spear past the constriction.

    Are there any solutions other than drilling a new well? The two well guys that have been out don't offer anything other than a new hole.

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    My first question is what caused the casing to collapse?

    Did the pump guys try to get a 3" Grundfos pump past the tight spot?

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member MarkMCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. The consensus on the casing problem seems to be minor earthquake activity in the area.

    Nobody mentioned a 3" pump. Could we pull the present pump and use a 3" diameter weight to assess clearance?

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    Yep, I would try a weight 3" in diameter before I bought the 3" pump just to be sure. You might find a pump guy who has a used one you could try too.

  5. #5
    In the Trades Texas Wellman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SE Texas-Coastal
    Posts
    487

    Default

    After re-reading your post, I think a 3" pump would probably be the solution. Have your well guy blow the well to see what it makes. I would look for at least 10 GPM before I would mess with the old well, and if it makes any sand or sediment then scrap it.

    Good luck.
    Last edited by Texas Wellman; 07-02-2013 at 05:52 AM.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member MarkMCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks guys.

    We tried a 3" weighted pipe and got it past the constriction and then...

    We got the new 3" pump (Grundfos 10SQ10-290) to depth and we are back to original flow. That is the good news.

    Bad news. The Pumptec, after running for 5 minutes or so, shows Load and Voltage lights flashing, denoting a "rapid cycle".

    What gives? My well guy says, "Pumptecs don't work on 3"pumps." and "Those 3" pumps don't last very long anyway."

    I find both of those statements hard to believe. HELP! We need to get the Pumptec back in-line.

  7. #7
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    Pump Teks and 3" Grundfos pumps are not compatible, remove the Pump Tek.

    Those little Grundfos pumps are pretty good units, I have seen some go 10 plus years.

    Don't let it run dry.

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member MarkMCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Any suggestions on pump protection? We have a low pressure cutoff on the line now.

  9. #9
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    I don't think there is anything like a Pump Tek for the 3" Grundfos.

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member MarkMCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks. I guess we'll see how things go with the low pressure cutoff.

  11. #11
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigpump View Post
    I don't think there is anything like a Pump Tek for the 3" Grundfos.
    What about a Cycle Sensor?
    http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/prod_sensor.html

  12. #12
    DIY Junior Member MarkMCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    Anxious to hear the answer to this one.

  13. #13
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    Ask valveman

  14. #14
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by craigpump View Post
    Ask valveman
    I tried pinging him but he appears to be offline now.

  15. #15
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,154

    Default

    Sorry. Traveling. Cycle Sensor works fine with SQ.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-18-2013, 10:38 AM
  2. solutions for a very small bathroom
    By calvin in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 08:28 AM
  3. Delta and Tankless HWH Solutions
    By Greatwhitewing in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-20-2011, 02:18 PM
  4. Domestic hot water not consistently hot.... Solutions?
    By woodslanding in forum Boiler Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 10:43 PM
  5. Shower Valve Put in Wrong--Solutions??
    By smcgowan65 in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 07:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •