(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: New water softener programming/setting.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member 311hemi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    12

    Default New water softener programming/setting.

    Hi there, first time poster here but long time viewer.

    I just built a new home and just got the water softener installed along with a inline filter. Everything is plumbed 3/4" Pex, and then has 1/2" Pex going to fixtures. I installed the following units:

    Aqua-pure CWS150ME, which has fine mesh resin.
    Aqua-pure AP-801 filtration system

    I have 4 people in the house, two adults and a baby and toddler.

    New well at 75':
    Hardness = 10
    Iron = 3.6
    pH = 7.5
    TDS 190 (145 on a different test)
    Tannin = .6 (no tannin removal as of yet, I know the tannin could foul the resin)

    I turned on the Clack WS-1 valve and programmed as the instructions said. I programmed the hardness at 24 and set the day override at 5 days due to the iron levels but not sure I need to do this. Factory setting are at 9 lb salt dose which is listed at 32000 grains.

    I am curious if I should be setting the day override due to the iron levels, and if I should go into the deeper levels of programming of the valve to change salt dosing or anything. Anything else I should consider? I know at the 5 days override I had 900 something gallons remaining, so I am wondering if I should drop to a 6 lb salt dosage?

    I have never had a softener before, so not exactly sure what I am doing but did a little research before buying and installing. I did add super iron out to the salt tank per the label, and using Morton system saver II salt.
    Last edited by 311hemi; 06-17-2013 at 08:23 AM.

  2. #2
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,933

    Default

    What is the capacity of the softener?

    I show you at around 6600 grains per day of hardness/iron that must be removed with a family of 4. Now you aren't quite a family of 4 yet cause the kids are still small and don't use a whole lot of water but they will grow. If it were me I'd be treating the iron with separate filtration.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member 311hemi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    12

    Default

    It's a model with 1.5 cu/ft fine mesh resin (manf: 3m Aqua-pure, formerly Cuno), vs the standard model which had the hi-cap resin. I think I only used 600-700 gallons of the 1550 or so it said I had useable after it regenerated the first time. but again I set the day override at 5 days.....so it regenerated much earlier than it normally would have. One of the water quality guys said I may want to regen earlier due to my iron levels.

    The test results listed above were from Kinetico (on site). I also had a second water quality company test my water with the following results:

    Hardness = 7
    Iron = 3
    pH = 7.5
    TDS = 142

  4. #4
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I agree with Tom, a proper Iron removal system would be a good idea. The system you have will work, but will also use 3x the amount of salt it should.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member 311hemi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Will it be using 3x the salt because I should be regenerating every 4-5 days like I have it set up, so I currently have it running properly? Or, should I let it run at factory settings and remove the day override?

    Could I drop my salt dosage down to 6 instead of 9, since we are not using the full amount of water (less that half) between regens?

    What would be a proper iron removal system, like a full tank setup?

  6. #6
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Iron removal is calculated at 5 grains per ppm of iron, you only have 5 grains of actual hardness, your compensated hardness setting will be closer to 20 grains. That is why it will use approximately 3x the salt.

    Hope this helps.

    Softening is not typically an efficient iron removal treatment.

Similar Threads

  1. How to empty water softener? (Kenmore deluxe demand water softener 625)
    By birkoff in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2013, 08:56 PM
  2. Water Softener RESERVE setting - a misnomer ?
    By ByteMe in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2012, 12:52 PM
  3. what does setting the Grain per gallons acually do when changed to different setting
    By sirleaky in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2012, 07:14 AM
  4. Gallon setting for Kinetico meter softener
    By kosiko in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-14-2009, 08:37 PM
  5. Fleck 5600SE water softener programming
    By mulman in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-06-2007, 08:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •